Land Border Agreement Between India And Bangladesh

As part of the agreement, India received 51 of Bangladesh`s 71 enclaves (51-54 of the 74 chhits) in India. 2,877.4 ha), while Bangladesh received 95 to 101 of the 103 Indian enclaves (111 out of 119 chhits) in Bangladesh (17,160.63 hectares, 6,944.66 ha). [3] [9] Bangladesh has retained the 1,868 ha of its dahagram-Angarpota enclave. India acquired 2,777,038 A-A (1.123,827 ha) and transferred 2,267,682 A0-A zones (917,698 ha) to Bangladesh. After the replacement of enclaves, India lost about 40 km2 in Bangladesh. According to the July 2010 Joint Census, 14,215 people lived in Indian enclaves in Bangladesh and 37,269 in Indian enclaves in Bangladesh. [22] People who lived in these enclaves without nationality could choose their nationality. [23] Q. Contrary to most reports that the people of the enclave are isolated from their country of origin, the Tin Bigha corridor is an example of Bangladesh using the infrastructure to connect with its inhabitants in the Dahagram-Angarpota enclave of India. To what extent have such country-of-origin initiatives complicated the choice of citizenship among the inhabitants of the enclave? What is the potential of this corridor after 2015 for liaison initiatives between the two countries? The state took the initiative to redistribute the land among the inhabitants of the enclave and this is where land surveying began, the state beginning to measure the land as the inhabitants of the enclave proclaimed as their own. This leaves the enclave in displeasure, as no legal document has yet been presented to them proving that you have been handed over the land ownership. The 2015 LBA was signed on 6 June 2015 in Bangladesh.

[1] The historic agreement facilitated the transfer of 111 enclaves from India to Bangladesh at 17,160.63 hectares. In contrast, India received 51 enclaves, or 7,110.02 hectares in Bangladesh (see annexes 1 and 2). Prior to this historic agreement, the protocol signed in 2011 between Manmohan Singh (India) and Sheikh Hasina (Bangladesh) was agreed, maintaining the status quo in dealing with the issue of unfavourable land holdings, with India receiving 2,777,038 hectares of Land from Bangladesh (see Appendix 3) and transferring 2,267,682 hectares of land to Bangladesh (see Appendix 4). [2] The 2011 Protocol was established in agreement with the governments of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and West Bengal, but could not be implemented due to adverse political circumstances. Thus, in 2015, the LBA implements the unresolved problems resulting from the unmarcated land border – about 6.1 km long – in three sectors. B including daikhata-56 (West Bengal), Muhuri River-Belonia (Tripura) and Lathitila-Dumabari (Assam); The exchange of enclaves; and the harmful property that was first dealt with in the 2011 protocol. [3] It is important to note that Bangladesh has gained more territory in exchange for land than India.